Write a post honoring veterans

 

Official Photograph of awarding of Medal of Honor

Image via Wikipedia

Write a post honoring veterans.

 

OH MY GOD I’ve been so horrible with keeping up with posts! >< I swear though, I’ll get back into the swing of it this week. It’s just been a weird weekend, I guess. Or something. I don’t really have an excuse, but I’m trying guys ;-;

 

Anyway. I recently watched a documentary about veterans of Iraq and Vietnam, and found it really interesting. Basically, they were talking about their ideals before going into the army and the reality of being on the battlefield. Really, it was sad. They felt like they had no purpose, no target; shooting everyone and anyone gave them a tense, un-heroic feeling that they certainly did not sign up for. I think I wrote about this already. But it’s pertinent.

Anyway. I most definitely support the troops. I do not, however, support the war that we’re tangled up in. I know that the politics of everything along with the military strategies the generals are dealing with are far beyond my comprehension, but I still don’t support Bush’s inability to know when to stop. And I don’t support it under Obama either, but I understand that his hands are tied in a sense. But I’m still not happy about it.

I honor veterans for risking their life for their country and for fulfilling that need to serve and protect. I honor them because of their bravery and incredible faith in our government and people. I honor them for their commitment towards a cause greater than their own, and the sacrifices they make by leaving behind family, friends, and the life they knew.

On another note, I honor their families and friends for waiting faithfully and hopefully for their loved ones to return. I honor them for being strong and willing to support no matter how difficult it may be, and I honor them for standing tall and standing behind their veteran friend.

Been a While, Crocodile! :3

