So So Sorry!

Adobe Illustrator logo

Meet my medium. :D

So I don’t really know how many people actually read this blog…but for those of you who do, I’m SO SORRY for not posting in what feels like forever! I had a lot of personal and school-related things going on right before break that I had to deal with, and honestly they left me too exhausted to even think, let alone answer the daily post prompts (because I like trying to answer them with a lot of thought and eloquence). Nevertheless, I’ve missed you guys and being able to give updates and write on things I never would have thought about. I’m going to try to continue with the daily post, but finals are all due by the 15th so I’ll be a little busy, to say the least. But rest assured, I will post at least a little something as often as I can. And then winter break – woo! Then I’ll definitely post as much as possible – at least once a day.

So let’s see, what’s been going on in my life since we last left off?

School – I got a really shitty critique from a teacher about a piece I had worked my ass off finishing. She told me, essentially, that she grades me harder because when I talk in class I understand everything and say the right stuff…and she also gave me a slap on the wrist for not using Adobe Illustrator, since it would have been “so much easier”. Instead I chose to work with a new material and force myself to experiment, but nooo, that apparently was worthy of a grade deduction. But the semester’s almost over, so I’ll be happy about that. Other than dealing with those projects and that mess of whatever, money is still a huge issue. I’m finally getting direct deposits, but my parents are confusing me as to what I’m supposed to do with my paychecks and grocery money etc. So I guess I’ll just wait until I hear from them and continue splitting it up like I have been.

Personal – Welll I’ve worked some things out with my parents and it’s all turned out for the best. They and my boyfriend are on good terms after a little bit of a tense situation, and the outcome is a more comfortable environment and a trip to Kansas City in early January! I’m super excited to have a few days to spend just with my boyfriend and just be ourselves. We see each other for such short amounts of time and so sparingly that I can’t wait until I get this opportunity with him. On another note, I’m also excited about the fact that I now have Sims 3! And like what feels like a million expansion packs…because of Black Friday sale stuff. Woot woo. I love making the characters and building the houses. Playing is more or less the boring part of the game but hey, whatever. It’s still fun and now I can make cats and dogs. Even though 90% it makes the game crash. In other news…I desperately need to do laundry. And clean my dishes. And force a system on myself for all of this so it doesn’t pile up like it has. I’m pretty sure the fly above my head is exited about the crumbs of breakfasts past.

Art: Not much to put here, sadly. I treated myself to a bunch of new technical pens that are just really awesome. I’m excited to start using them to once again ink in my work and make it less smudgy. I might also break down and buy another pencil. But I don’t really have money to do that with now, so that’ll have to wait. But other than that, I’ve been meaning to start a project for myself that would be ongoing for…however long. Basically, I want to closely study and render (but in a more illustrative way as opposed to scientifically accurate way…) animal skeletons, bones, etc. Then I’m going to either finish them off in pen as sketches or put them into Adobe Illustrator or Adobe Photoshop and mess around with them to hopefully create interesting pieces that I would be happy with and that would maybe inspire a style? I just think that skeletal systems are so gorgeous and fascinatingly complex…but flawless.

 

Well that’s all I have for today! I’ll try to post again soon. Until then, I hope you haven’t given up on me~

Been a While, Crocodile! :3

