Is there a cure for stupidity?

 

Be stupid @ Amsterdam

Or don't.

Is there a cure for stupidity?.

Let’s be blunt: no. And not because people who don’t understand things are un-fixable or unintelligible or whatever. I believe that anyone can learn and develop skills and become “smarter” if they persist. But stupidity isn’t just about book smarts and education level. I think that the way society views it makes it seem like the most important aspect of one’s knowledge, but really it’s just as equal as, say, common sense. Or anything else like that. Just things you do or don’t do and how much you learn from them.

So. I don’t think there’s a cure for stupidity, and here’s why: I think that there’s a certain level of resistance and ignorance in anyone who’s unwilling to overcome their mental obstacles. Sure, there’s a limit to everyone’s capabilities, but on the other hand, there’s a certain level of effort required as well. There’s a level of choice in stupidity. Not only in the sense that you can either make an effort or not, but also because…it’s stupid to want to be stupid. If that makes sense. And not just academically; stupid as in everything. I dunno. I probably said a lot of wrong things but that’s the gist of how I see it.

3 thoughts on “Is there a cure for stupidity?

  1. The next time I read a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I imply, I know it was my choice to read, however I really thought youd have something fascinating to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you would fix when you werent too busy on the lookout for attention.

    • Indeed it was. And the fact that you seem to find a “bunch” of whining or whatever, I’d say you went beyond just choosing to read, but even went so far as to read it continuously. If you don’t like it, don’t read it. As cliche as that is. I don’t think I complain too much. I say what’s going on in my life and the thoughts that I have. I try to be honest and candid; indeed it might be a little whiny now because I’m in the middle of finals week, but for the most part I think I stick to answering the daily posts and giving quick updates for you guys. I encourage you to read earlier posts and perhaps even give me the benefit of the doubt and not write me off completely. If you choose to not read anymore, that’s fine. But please don’t tell me I’ve “disappointed” you, because you’re the one who continued reading and I’m not trying to get “attention” from anyone, nor am I trying to meet anyone’s expectations. I’m simply blogging for my own sake, and it’s public because it gives me more of a reason to. I also enjoy answering the daily post prompts. I appreciate your criticism, but I urge you not to make it so hastily and to not make yourself the center of -my- blog. If I was truly going for attention, I would talk about a whole lot more, believe me.

  2. An fascinating discourse is couturier observe. I think that you should make more on this matter, it strength not be a inhibition human but generally grouping are not enough to verbalize on specified topics. To the next. Cheers like your Is there a cure for stupidity? Systematically Spasmodic.

Been a While, Crocodile! :3

