The Brave

I'm still not brave enough to watch scary movies...

Where do you go to be brave?.

Brave? I don’t know if I’d really call myself brave. But maybe I am. I think this past semester of college has made me live up to that definition more. i’ve definitely faced a lot of my fears and insecurities while being here and have grown from those experiences. I’ve tried not to shy away from the scary or new, and I’ve tried to push myself into making friends and being vulnerable, as well as asking for help and asserting myself in general. I think that I’m probably the most brave when the situation requires it. And by that I mean that if I get lost, I’m not just going to sit down and panic and cry. I’ll work it out and try my hardest to find my way again on my own, and only ask for help if I feel like I’ve exhausted all of my realistic options. Or talking to my teachers instead of just bullshitting the assignments or getting it wrong because I was too scared to affirm the requirements. Or being hungry and using an oven for the first time even though the heat scares the shit out of me, and making it through fine. Or going to parties where I don’t know where I am and being able to get home and make smart choices about what I eat/drink/say/do. My bravery is pretty mundane, pretty insignificant (I’m no superman~), but important for me and my growth as a person and as an adult making it through college. I think I’ve been more brave this semester than I ever have in my life. I’ve always been the one to shy away because of fear of failure or rejection or pain, but now I feel like I’m taking more chances and putting myself out there more. And if I do face those things I’m (still) afraid of? Well, now I can handle it. Now I can deal with it and feel better afterwards, I can control situations that have gone beyond their routine. And it feels great. I feel older. It’s only been a few months and my birthday isn’t until May 2012, but I feel older.

One thought on “Where do you go to be brave?

  1. Pingback: Memories: On Being Brave… | Mirth and Motivation

Been a While, Crocodile! :3

