Philosophy is Nothing To Scoff At…

sigmund freud

Good lord, people, it really is nothing to scoff at. I mean I don’t devalue anyone who doesn’t have a taste for it, but God you have to at least respect some of the minds that contributed to its development. So why am I going on about this? Mostly because of the fact that the class I’m taking has actually -given- me headaches from thinking about the content. Not to say that I didn’t think hard about the things I read and tackled in high school, but this was a whole new level of mental effort. Freud wasn’t too bad; I’ve read things at a slightly higher level. After having read 19th century novels senior year, reading 20th century texts was a lot easier, syntactically. Anyway. The first thing we read was Freud’s Beyond the Pleasure Principle, which was incredibly fascinating and, all things considered, an enjoyable read. I had to write a 1-2 page paper called a scholarly note, and I just got the resulting comments back today. I got a good solid grade on it, which I’m happy about, and I now know how specific to be/how much to cite the text in my paper. Which helps me a lot in terms of figuring out what the teacher is looking for.

The next exert wasn’t quite as easy. Heidegger‘s Being and Time introduction is something that I would be fine with never reading again…it’s SO CONFUSING. Everything feels circular, and everything feels so completely abstract and beyond any normal comprehensibility. I still don’t entirely understand it, and I know that my paper suffered from this fact. But it’s all a learning experience, and I really feel like I’m going to improve and be the better for it.

So guys, next time you start shunning philosophy, why don’t you try reading about Being and being and phenomenology D:

2 thoughts on “Philosophy is Nothing To Scoff At…

  1. Interesting comments… I suspect Freud might well have been a bit of a pioneer at the time… a lot of his work underpins theories that are about in the twentyfirst century, not to mention developments in psychoanalysis per se.

Been a While, Crocodile! :3

